Thursday, August 22, 2019






AHSAA Hall of Fame Induction Set for Monday Night

MONTGOMERY – Twelve major contributors to prep athletics in Alabama will be inducted into the 25th class of the Alabama High School Sports Hall of Fame Monday night.

The 2015 class, which includes coaches, administrators, officials, media and an “oldtimer,” will be inducted at a special Silver Anniversary banquet commemorating all 25 years of the event. The banquet will be at the Renaissance Hotel at the Convention Center in Montgomery at 6:30 p.m. A “meet-the-inductees” press conference will be held at the Renaissance at 5:30. A reception will be held at the Alabama High School Athletic Association from 2 to 3:30 p.m. Monday prior to the banquet, and a Hall of Fame luncheon will be at 11:30 a.m. at the Renaissance.
          Selected for induction are tennis coach Nancy Becker, basketball coaches Steve Jefferson, Jack Doss and Bobby Wright, football coaches Steve Rivers, Doug Goodwin and John Tatum, athletic director Myra Miles, track official Houston Young, and administrators Alan Mitchell and Ron Ingram. Selected in the “Old Timer” category is longtime Geneva County football coach James D. Chesteen, now deceased.
          Sponsors of the Hall of Fame program are the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA) and the AHSAA. The corporate sponsors are Cadence Bank, Coca-Cola, EBSCO Media, Encore Rehabilitation, Farmers Insurance, Russell Athletic, TeamIP and Wilson Sporting Goods.
          WSFA TV sports director Jeff Shearer will emcee the banquet. The NFHS Network will live-stream the banquet. The link is:
          The first class was inducted in 1991.

Comments are closed.